EDIT MAIN
Plus_blue

Pierson High School Clubs and Co-Curricular Offerings

Art/Literary Magazine

The high school art/literary magazine aims to produce a publication that will celebrate art and culture for our student body and, in the process, refine the literature and art skills of those who work on it. All that is required to join is creativity and an open mind. For more information please contact Gary Schulman at gschulman@sagharborschools.org .

Chamber Group/Jazz Band

The Chamber Group/Jazz Band Advisor meets with students for extra help, make-up lessons, and to prepare students for the Hamptons Music Educators Association (HMEA), Suffolk County Music Educators Association (SCMEA), and New York State School Music Association (NYSSMA) festivals. Extra help and rehearsals with students will be held for thirty minutes, three times per week. For more information please contact Will Fujita at wfujita@sagharborschools.org .

Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR)

The CPR Club is a group of students in grades 10-12 who become certified as American Heart Association BLS CPR Instructors by taking the CPR Instructor elective course. As instructors, the students volunteer to train our seventh and tenth grade health students, students from other schools, and members of the community in CPR. For more information please contact Sue Denis at sdenis@sagharborschools.org .

Chorus

The Chorus Advisor meets with students after school to audition and prepare them for the Hamptons Music Educators Association (HMEA), Suffolk County Music Educators Association (SCMEA), and New York State School Music Association (NYSSMA) festivals. Holiday Light Up is a voluntary performance open to students from all choral groups where students sing holiday selections for the community at the tree lighting and for children as they visit with Santa. For more information please contact Suzanne Nicoletti at snicoletti@sagharborschools.org .

Environmental Club

The Environmental Club is open to all students in grades 9-12 with an interest in learning about environmental issues facing our society. For more information please contact either Robert Schumacher at rschumacher@sagharborschools.org or Rich Schumacher at richschumacher@sagharborschools.org .

Fall Play

The Fall Play provides students with an opportunity to participate in a dramatic theatre production. Auditions take place shortly after school starts in September. Rehearsals are generally held every day after school and last approximately 2-3 hours. As opening night nears, rehearsals will last longer and occur on weekends as well. In addition to cast members, there is a need for all manner of behind-the-scenes help: stage crew, set builders, costume design, and advertising. For more information please contact Keith Holden at kholden@sagharborschools.org .

Gay Straight Alliance

The Gay Straight Alliance (GSA) of Pierson MS/HS is a coalition of students and faculty offering education, support, and awareness in a safe environment. The GSA’s goal is to provide empowerment, education, and information to the Pierson school community. For more information please contact the school psychologist Christina Little at clittle@sagharborschools.org or via telephone at extension 463.

High School Musical

The High School Musical provides students with an opportunity to participate in a musical theatre production. All high school students are encouraged to audition for the musical regardless of past experience or ability. If not cast in an on-stage position, students can participate by filling positions on backstage crew, lighting, sets, props, costumes, make-up, ushering, and concession before and during performances. Student instrumental musicians are also sought for the pit band. For more information please contact Bethany Dellapolla at bdellapolla@sagharborschools.org .

Long Island Teen Institute (LITI)

LITI is a comprehensive education and training program that assists teens in developing positive leadership skills while also focusing on drug and alcohol prevention. The events takes place on four different weekends at Camp Quinipet on Shelter Island. The program focuses on making positive choices and includes speakers who talk about a range of issues facing today’s youth. For more information please contact Adam Mingione at amingione@sagharborschools.org or via telephone at extension 715.

Math League

Students compete in practices, math tournaments, and contests including the Suffolk County Math League, Suffolk County Math Tournament, Suffolk County Math Contest, the New York State Math League, and the American Math Contest, along with others. All students in grades 9-12 are welcome and encouraged to join. Students may participate in just one or in all of the weekly activities. For more information please contact Kevin Roode at kroode@sagharborschools.org .

Model United Nations

Pierson Model United Nations is a student group that seeks to examine global issues through the medium of discussion and debate. Students will engage in research and role-playing to seek theoretical solutions to real world problems. Activities include charity-oriented fundraising and trips to Model United Nations conferences. For more information please contact Frank Atkinson-Barnes at fatkinson-barnes@sagharborschools.org .

National Honor Society

The National Honor Society is a group of students who exhibit exemplary scholarship, leadership, service, and character within the school community. Students apply for admittance and must meet specific criteria. The group provides community service and facilitates events such as the Pierson Experience Day and Teacher Appreciation Day. For more information please contact Jill Stellato at jstellato@sagharborschools.org .

Newspaper

The Pierson High School newspaper is a club designed to provide students with an authentic experience in journalism and publishing. Members of the newspaper club are editors, photographers, reporters, and graphic designers. Each edition of the student paper is published in hardcopy and posted to the school website. For more information please contact Gary Schulman at gschulman@sagharborschools.org .

Open Art Studio

High School Open Studio meets once a week in the high school art room beginning in October and concluding in May. Open studio gives the high school art students a place to explore their artistic desires and goals. During the three-hour block students have the opportunity to develop their portfolio, work on larger projects, and incorporate new and challenging mediums that might not be available during their regularly scheduled classes. Visiting artists and unique programs are also run through Open Studio. You need not be in an art class to attend; all 9th – 12th grade students are welcome. For more information please contact Joe Bartolotto at jbartolotto@sagharborschools.org .

Quiz Bowl

The Quiz Bowl team is open to high school students interested in competitive trivia. The team practices and competes in tournaments with other schools. The team will field a JV and Varsity team and has the potential to play in the Long Island Tournament. The Quiz Bowl team also has the opportunity to participate in a match that is televised, The Long Island Challenge. Tryouts will determine the participants for the televised event. For more information please contact Frank Atkinson-Barnes at fatkinson-barnes@sagharborschools.org .

Robotics

Students in the Robotics Club will design and build a functional robot. Beginning with their own drawings, students work with an engineer to design and develop a functional robot to compete in tournaments. They record their experience and work through the development of their own documentary video. Students also develop a profile, logo, and hold their own fundraisers to help with their travel expenses. Students attend a three-day event at Hofstra University at the end of March. Group meetings take place after school and on weekends. For more information please contact Sue Duff at sduff@sagharborschools.org .

Student Council

Student Government at Pierson provides an opportunity for students to engage in the democratic process. Members of the council take on a wide range of responsibilities including organizing school events and fundraisers. Council members are also responsible for fielding and presenting the concerns and interests of the student body to the appropriate administrators. The council meets twice a month with additional meetings when necessary. For more information please contact Jim Kinnier at jkinnier@sagharborschools.org .

Yearbook

The Pierson High School yearbook is published each year under the supervision of its advisor. Students involved in the yearbook are involved in all aspects of the publishing which include (but are not limited to) design layout, photography, proofreading, editing, advertising, marketing, publicity, and sale. Additionally, students learn cooperation, dedication, time management and responsibility. For more information please contact Amy Gleason at agleason@sagharborschools.org .